Jessica Phelps disappeared from her Flint, Michigan home on July 1, 1997. Her mother was taking a shower when little Jessica decided to play on the sidewalk in front of the house. Then the four-year-old girl vanished. Jessica Phelps was kidnapped.
Kidnapping is a very serious crime in Michigan. If you’ve been charged with kidnapping or you believe the police suspect you of kidnapping in Michigan or Macomb County, please contact Michigan Justice at (586) 221-4100. Consulting with an experienced lawyer from our firm can better ensure that your rights are protected. Kidnapping accusations must be handled with the utmost attention to detail, and that’s what we do best at Michigan Justice. The head of our criminal defense department, Goran Antovski, is a seasoned defense attorney who has previously handled cases for and with the Macomb County Prosecutor’s office. He and the Michigan Justice team will rigorously and steadfastly defend your rights and provide the best possible outcome for your case.
Michigan’s Kidnapping Statute
Under Michigan law, a kidnapping occurs when someone knowingly confines another person and intends to do any of the following:
- Hold that person for ransom or reward.
- Use that person as a shield or hostage.
- Engage in criminal sexual conduct with that person.
- Take that person outside of Michigan.
- Hold that person in involuntary servitude.
- Engage in sexually abusive activity of a minor.
In essence, a person is kidnapped when any of the above situations exist and they are restrained or confined with the intention of holding them against their will.
A person found guilty under this law faces up to life imprisonment and a $50,000 fine.
Michigan’s Child Kidnapping Law
The person who took 4-year-old Jessica Phelps would likely be charged under this law: the Michigan Child Kidnapper statute. Anyone who purposely takes a child under the age of 14 and intends to restrain or conceal that child from a parent or guardian can be found guilty of child kidnapping.
Likewise, if a parent takes a child for more than 24 hours and intends to keep the child from another custodial parent or guardian, that parent could face a child kidnapping charge. Anyone found guilty of violating Michigan’s Child Kidnapping law faces possible imprisonment of up to one year and one day and a $2,000 fine.
Have you been Charged with Kidnapping?
If you’ve been charged with kidnapping or you believe the police suspect you of kidnapping in Michigan or Macomb County, please call us immediately at (586) 221-4100. Our criminal defense attorneys are committed to working tirelessly on behalf of our clients and to securing the most favorable results possible. Attorney Goran Antovski and the Michigan Justice team are here to defend your rights, freedom, and future. When you’re facing criminal charges, you need a former prosecutor on your side.